Home             To Order

Grades               Our Philosophy

Grade 1          Classical Education

Grade 2          Charlotte Mason

Grade 3          History & Geography

Grade 4          Science & Nature

Grade 5          Literature & Reading

Grade 6          Imagination & Play

Grade 7          Languages

Grade 8          Where's the Queen?

         "Let them once get in touch with Nature, and a habit is formed which will be a source of delight through life."  

     As Charlotte Mason advocates, The Tanglewood School Curriculum takes advantage of creation as a teacher and playmate.  Our science curriculum has a heavy emphasis on nature walks, nature journaling (nature journal is included), and out-of-doors play.  The teacher's Corebook (plan and record book) works many of Charlotte Mason's own suggestions into the school year and contains guidelines and schedules to follow, helpful hints, and encouragement along the way.

     The Tanglewood School Curriculum also utilizes several enthralling books teaching basic scientific knowledge.  First graders study the human body and plant life;  second graders study earth science; third graders study geology; fourth graders study the human body and medicine.

     The curriculum package for each grade contains the Corebook, nature journal, and "living" science books corresponding to the topic of the year.  However, if this is your first time purchasing a Tanglewood curriculum package you will want to invest in the first-time buyer's Supplement Kit which contains some science helps like the best ever (in our opinion) bird watcher's guide and Anna Botsford Comstock's Handbook of Nature Study.  

(You can find more information on Charlotte Mason's views on nature study on the Charlotte Mason page!)




2002 The Tanglewood School Curriculum, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.